Campaigning

Graham Ellis sharing years of experience as a thought on each day
Coffee Shop Home PageAbout the Coffee ShopAcronymsStation ComparatorCalendarNew TopicsPopular TopicsMRUGCoffee Shop Forum
Campaigning Home PageCampaigning - list of daily tipsCampaigning - today's tip
Great Western RailwayCross Country TrainsChiltern RailwaysSouth Western RailwayTransport for WalesTransport for London

The introduction - tips and techniques from a decade of campaigning

This campaign tip (no. 0) was published on Monday, 31st December 2018
You're at the home page of my 2019 "tips and techniques" blog. To read all about it, see [[here]]

The following articles are already published (click on the bullet to go to a particular tip):
• #0 Introduction and index
• 260 *** Appreciate your supporters (of Tuesday, 17th September 2019)
• 255 *** Consider your correspondence (of Thursday, 12th September 2019)
• 240 Leave yourself an exit (of Wednesday, 28th August 2019)
• 235 Know when to go (of Friday, 23rd August 2019)
• 225 Who sold you THAT? (of Tuesday, 13th August 2019)
• 223 Date of next meeting (of Sunday, 11th August 2019)
• 217 Exhibition Stands (of Monday, 5th August 2019)
• 215 Is "do nothing" an option? (of Saturday, 3rd August 2019)
• 211 Carnivals, Fetes, street parties (of Tuesday, 30th July 2019)
• 210 Look for hooks to write on (of Monday, 29th July 2019)
• 205 Bad News Sandwich (of Wednesday, 24th July 2019)
• 200 Take up people's problems to a degree (of Friday, 19th July 2019)
• 195 Think first (of Sunday, 14th July 2019)
• 190 Do not make life difficult for other campaigns (of Tuesday, 9th July 2019)
• 185 *** Share best practice and don't be insular (of Thursday, 4th July 2019)
• 175 *** Don't re-invent the wheel (of Monday, 24th June 2019)
• 160 Appreciate others (of Sunday, 9th June 2019)
• 141 If it's systemic (of Tuesday, 21st May 2019)
• 140 Presentation Checklist (of Monday, 20th May 2019)
• 137 Aim High (of Friday, 17th May 2019)
• 135 Don't re-invent the wheel (of Wednesday, 15th May 2019)
• 125 Always consider your safety net (of Sunday, 5th May 2019)
• 117 Keep your helpers informed (of Saturday, 27th April 2019)
• 115 Threaten wisely - (of Thursday, 25th April 2019)
• 113 Reply to Consultations (of Tuesday, 23rd April 2019)
• 112 Important, urgent, both, neither? (of Monday, 22nd April 2019)
• 111 A compromise may be better than your initial idea (of Sunday, 21st April 2019)
• 110 Appreciate the technical people (of Saturday, 20th April 2019)
• 109 Look ahead not behind (of Friday, 19th April 2019)
• 108 Ask humbly for help (of Thursday, 18th April 2019)
• 107 Angry? Write and delete! (of Wednesday, 17th April 2019)
• 106 10 questions to ask yourself on a community project (of Tuesday, 16th April 2019)
• 105 Go for a steady state (of Monday, 15th April 2019)
• 104 Balance your elements (of Sunday, 14th April 2019)
• 101 Push or pull (of Thursday, 11th April 2019)
• 100 Checkpoint (of Wednesday, 10th April 2019)
• 99 Give things names (of Tuesday, 9th April 2019)
• 98 Are petitions worthwhile? (of Monday, 8th April 2019)
• 97 Making your petition attractive (of Sunday, 7th April 2019)
• 90 You are not in this to be liked, nor for money, nor for glory! (of Sunday, 31st March 2019)
• 73 In a crisis there can be opportunity (of Thursday, 14th March 2019)
• 71 Avoid the long grass (of Tuesday, 12th March 2019)
• 70 Respect those ahead (of Monday, 11th March 2019)
• 69 Make it memorable (of Sunday, 10th March 2019)
• 68 We're just volunteers (of Saturday, 9th March 2019)
• 67 Lead by example (of Friday, 8th March 2019)
• 66 Beware latent gender discrimination (of Thursday, 7th March 2019)
• 62 A burkha contains a person just like you and me! (of Sunday, 3rd March 2019)
• 61 The minister and your MP come and go (of Saturday, 2nd March 2019)
• 60 Break down to manageable pieces (of Friday, 1st March 2019)
• 59 GIve yourself easy targets (of Thursday, 28th February 2019)
• 58 Entering for awards (of Wednesday, 27th February 2019)
• 56 Press - friend or foe? (of Monday, 25th February 2019)
• 55 Ensure your facts are right right RIGHT (of Sunday, 24th February 2019)
• 54 As it becomes bigger it become mostly management (of Saturday, 23rd February 2019)
• 53 Use colour (of Friday, 22nd February 2019)
• 52 Attend the wrong meeting (of Thursday, 21st February 2019)
• 51 Strategy and tactics (of Wednesday, 20th February 2019)
• 50 Welcome to new members on social media (of Tuesday, 19th February 2019)
• 49 Controlled anger (of Monday, 18th February 2019)
• 47 Have a constitution (of Saturday, 16th February 2019)
• 46 Don't take on too much / exhaust yourself. (of Friday, 15th February 2019)
• 45 Yours not to be liked - yours to be effective (of Thursday, 14th February 2019)
• 44 Move with the times (of Wednesday, 13th February 2019)
• 43 Move on to cabinet responsibility (of Tuesday, 12th February 2019)
• 42 Have a fallback plan if a voluteer goes AWOL (of Monday, 11th February 2019)
• 41 Don't sign up for other petitions or campaigns unless you're 110% sure. (of Sunday, 10th February 2019)
• 40 Plan robustly (of Saturday, 9th February 2019)
• 39 Be there for the long term (of Friday, 8th February 2019)
• 38 Look back to learn not to emulate (of Thursday, 7th February 2019)
• 36 Know each volunteer's commitment (of Tuesday, 5th February 2019)
• 35 Just publish 1 in 1000 (of Monday, 4th February 2019)
• 34 Do not show or suggest danger (of Sunday, 3rd February 2019)
• 33 Let the lunatics bid to run the asylum and set the agenda (of Saturday, 2nd February 2019)
• 32 If you won't do something yourself, why should you expect others to do it? (of Friday, 1st February 2019)
• 31 Make it work for everyone (of Thursday, 31st January 2019)
• 30 Don't go back and edit social media (of Wednesday, 30th January 2019)
• 29 1 in 10 ideas only (of Tuesday, 29th January 2019)
• 28 It's all about how you cast it - (of Monday, 28th January 2019)
• 27 Be Noticed (of Sunday, 27th January 2019)
• 26 Choose Marketing words and names carefully (of Saturday, 26th January 2019)
• 25 Reach the right people and reports (of Friday, 25th January 2019)
• 24 Required quality not perfact (of Thursday, 24th January 2019)
• 23 You have two ears and one mouth (of Wednesday, 23rd January 2019)
• 22 Have some originality / difference (of Tuesday, 22nd January 2019)
• 21 Correct, not at all, or with caution? (of Monday, 21st January 2019)
• 20 Transport meetings times (of Sunday, 20th January 2019)
• 19 Should you not answer too early? (of Saturday, 19th January 2019)
• 18 Capital asks - not revenue (of Friday, 18th January 2019)
• 17 If you find yourself repeating things (of Thursday, 17th January 2019)
• 16 It's a small world (of Wednesday, 16th January 2019)
• 14 The campaign not the campaigner (of Monday, 14th January 2019)
• 13 Don't dilute other campaigners (of Sunday, 13th January 2019)
• 12 A time of change - a time of opportunity (of Saturday, 12th January 2019)
• 11 literature life (of Friday, 11th January 2019)
• 10 Poor english? (of Thursday, 10th January 2019)
• 9 Welcome newcomers at meetings (of Wednesday, 9th January 2019)
• 8 Statistical Presentation (of Tuesday, 8th January 2019)
• 7 Set a threshold (of Monday, 7th January 2019)
• 6 If you can't say it ... (of Sunday, 6th January 2019)
• 5 Campaign fatigue (of Saturday, 5th January 2019)
• 4 Strategy and tactics (of Friday, 4th January 2019)
• 3 Learning from the history (of Thursday, 3rd January 2019)
• 2 4 stages (of Wednesday, 2nd January 2019)
• 1 Before you start ... (of Tuesday, 1st January 2019)

Contact details

These pages are written by Graham Ellis of Melksham, Wiltshire. Overlapping a life in IT and IT training, with running a hotel and campaigning for improved public transport, Graham has never been quiet - though he's starting to wind down gently now. He no longer takes overnight guests and has stepped doen from the "Community Rail Officer" role which he accidentally aquired. So he now has more time to write pages such as these and to travel in the UK. He'll be delighted to speak with your group or take a look through your case or camapaign, but be alerted that his time is not limitless even now, and he still has to keep the wolf from the door.

Postal: 48, Spa Road, Melksham, Wiltshire, SN12 7NY
Phonal: 01225 708225
Emailal: graham -at- wellho.net
Or reach me on the Coffee Shop Forum (User Grahame) facilities


What a difference a campaign makes!

It probably wouldn't have happened without a strong community campaign with which I have been involved. Most days through 2019 I'll be sharing a thought, an idea, a way of working or an experience. Come back here for the links. Discussions via the Coffee Shop Forum - Graham Ellis, 31st December 2018


Popular Links


Recent forum popular topics

[*] IETs into passenger service from 16 Oct 2017 and subsequent performance issues
[*] Travelogue observations - 17th September 2019 - switching
[*] Great Western Main Line electrification - ongoing discussion
[*] Isle of Wight futures.
[*] Server issues
[*] Welcome to "Meet the Managing Director"
[*] BBC Radio Bristol Weds 18 September. Bristol Western Docks
[*] New Club 50
[*] Ilfracombe Branch

done